Seen from the air

2017-05-16 14.20.30

Earlier this week I was flying through Munich airport and the plane took the scenic route over Munich and its surroundings. The sun was out and the rapeseed fields were in bloom, making patches of bright and pretty yellow all over the landscape. I saw this from the window and wondered what it could be – was it the world’s longest swimming pool?

A quick search on Google Maps after I got home gave me the answer: it’s the Regattastrecke Oberschleißheim, an artificial rowing course built for the 1972 Olympics. I really enjoyed watching the contrasting colors in the landscape from the air, especially the different blues and greens of the various water bodies, and the snowy mountain ranges that we flew over before getting to Munich. The patterns in the formal gardens at the Nymphenberg Palace could also be seen, but I wasn’t fast enough with my camera.

If only the weather was always so nice when I am in the air!

One comment on “Seen from the air

  1. S says:

    Munich Olympics is famous in GP.. Did you learn about the attack too? My friend lives at the olympic village so i got to see the monument for the israeli victims they have there.

Leave a Reply

