Dropbox no longer serving websites

Update 17 Nov 2016: I’ve now migrated seaheuchin.info to a GitHub-hosted repository. More details on how I set it up in my next post!

It was fun while it lasted. My project website seaheuchin.info was doing something odd when I visited it last week to look something up: instead of rendering the index.html page like it did before, the browser started to download it.

Turns out that Dropbox has stopped supporting this feature. My site is/was simply a shared public link in my Dropbox Public folder, to which I pointed a custom domain name. Previously it was possible to host small websites this way, and they would serve up the HTML properly rendered. However this was ended for Basic accounts last month, and will also end for Pro accounts next year.

So what next? I was planning on migrating to Github Pages anyway, because I wanted to have better tracking of versions and edits. That is planned for my next free weekend, so watch this space! If for any reason you urgently want to read about Seah Eu Chin, just drop me a message by leaving a comment here or emailing me.

One comment on “Dropbox no longer serving websites

  1. […] Dropbox has stopped offering this freebie, and I had to find another hosting option. I also wanted a way of keeping track of the […]

Leave a Reply

